Upcoming Events


When Where What
Wednesday,
April 10th, 2019
6:00p - 9:30p
Andover Country Club, 60 Canterbury Street, Andover
Annual Dinner: Please save the date for the AVIS Annual Dinner. Come and celebrate our 125th anniversary. More details
Sunday,
April 14th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
17 Launching Road, Andover
Meet halfway down the hill on Merrimac Drive, Tewksbury. We will be taking a bus to the trailhead on Launching Rd.
Merrimack River Trail: Deer Jump, Spalding, Behrakis
Due to the limited amount of seats in the bus, please register with Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain jefflaf@comcast.net
Tuesday,
April 16th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Deer Jump Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike/Trash pickup with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at Launching Rd. on right just past Mercury Cir.
Tuesday,
May 4th, 2019
9:30a - 11:30a
Vale Reservation
Beaver nature walk: Led by North Shore Nature Programs, northshorenatureprograms.com which is an environmental education organization dedicated to helping students of all ages fall in love with nature. They work with schools, community groups, and individuals to provide engaging, informative programs that help explain the world around us. The nature walk will be led by Dan Holbrook and is open to all ages. This family friendly walk will start at the end of Dale St. and look for all things related to beavers and their habitat along the Shawsheen River on the Vale Reservation. No pets.
Tuesday,
May 7th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Goldsmith Woodlands Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 491 S. Main St.
Thursday,
May 16,
9:30-11:30 am
Meet at 26 Oriole Drive, Andover.
Indian Ridge Hike: Join AVIS and Andover Trails in a collaborative event with Essex County Greenbelt Association, as we hike through Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, West Parish Meadow, and the Sakowich Reservation. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
May 19,
1:00-4:00 pm
Meet on Abbot Bridge Drive, near the intersection of Central Street, Andover.
Shawsheen River Trail Hike: Celebrate Spring with a hike along the Shawsheen River. We’ll visit the Vale and Shawsheen River Reservations on this easy hike. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Tuesday,
May 21st, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Sakowich, Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, West Parish Meadow
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 26 Oriole Dr at Sakowich.
Tuesday,
June 4th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Vale Reservation & Shawsheen River Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at the end of Dale St.
Sunday,
June 9th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet at the Skug River Reservation parking lot at 315 Salem Street, Andover. River Reservation Hike: This hike will take in the Hammond and Skug River Reservations. Highlights include a glacial erratic, soapstone quarries, and the remains of a 19th-century grist mill. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Tuesday,
June 18th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Wilkinson Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at Woburn St. on left just past Rattlesnake Hill Rd.
Tuesday,
June 16th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Stanley Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at Spring Grove Rd. opposite the cemetery.
Sunday,
June 23rd, 2019
1:00p - 3:00p
Meet at the parking lot opposite the town compost site on High Plain Road. Rafton Reservation Hike: Join AVIS and Andover Trails in a collaborative event with Essex County Greenbelt Association, as we hike through the Virginia Hammond and Harold Rafton Reservations. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
July 14th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet on Abbot Bridge Drive, near the intersection of Central Street, Andover. Six Reservation Bus Tour/Hike: Get on the bus and tour six of AVIS’s smaller reservations. We’ll visit Purdon, Lupine, Greene, Burns, Wilkinson, and Stanley Reservations.
Due to the limited number of seats on the bus, please register with Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain, jefflaf@comcast.net.
Tuesday,
August 6th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Richard J. Bonier Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 3 Monahan Ln.
Sunday,
August 11th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet on Monohan Lane, Andover. Five Reservation Bus Tour/Hike:Get on the bus again and tour five more of AVIS’s smaller reservations. This month, it’s the Bonier, Sherman, and Nat Smith Reservations, plus Turtle Mound and the site of the Lowell & Lawrence Railroad.
Due to the limited number of seats on the bus, please register with Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain, jefflaf@comcast.net.
Tuesday,
August 20th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Turtle Mound / Nat Smith Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 3 Lakeside Cir.
Tuesday,
September 3rd, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Harold R. Rafton Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at High Plain Rd. across from the leaf compost project.
Sunday,
September 15th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot on 491 S. Main Street, Andover. Goldsmith Woodlands Hike:As Fall approaches, we’ll hike through the Goldsmith Woodlands to Foster’s Pond. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
October 13th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot on 491 S. Main Street, Andover. Rafton Reservation Hike:Enjoy this wonderful hike chock-full of old stone walls and woodlots through the Virginia Hammond and Harold Rafton Reservations. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
November 10th, 2019
1:00p - 3:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot at the corner of Gould Road and Rte. 125. Peggy Keck Reservation Hike:Feel the brisk air as we hike through this geological gem, know as the Peggy Keck Reservation. The keen-eyes hiker can find ample evidence of the glacial origins of this land. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
November 21st, 2019
9:30a - 11:301
Meet at the Skug River Reservation parking lot at 315 Salem Street, Andover. Skug River Reservation Hike:Join AVIS and Andover Trails in a collaborative event with Essex County Greenbelt Association, as we hike through the Hammond and Skug River Reservations. Highlights include a glacial erratic, soapstone quarries, and the remains of a 19th-century grist mill. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
December 8th, 2019
1:00p - 3:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot on Vine Street. Amy Gordon Taft Reservation Hike:As winter approaches and the end of the year looms, take some time to hike the magnificent Amy Gordon Taft Reservation. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain

Past Events

When Where What
Tuesday,
April 2nd, 2019
9:30a - 12:00
Deer Jump Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike / trash pickup with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at the end of Ravens Bluff.
Tuesday,
March 26th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00
Amy Gordon Taft Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Join our Hike / Trimming trails with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com).
Parking: Sagamore Dr. at Wildwood Rd.
Sunday,
March 10th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
26 Oriole Drive, Andover
Iconic AVIS Reservations: Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, Sakowich & West Parish Meadow
Wednesday,
March 13th, 2019
7:00p - 9:00p
Memorial Hall, Memorial Hall Library
Joint Meeting of the AVIS Wardens and the Andover Conservation Commission Overseers.
This informative program is a presentation about the invasive species that are on our properties. The presenters are, Chris Polatin, Polatin Ecological Services www.polaitneco.com and Robert Barry, NativeScapes, MA and an AVIS Warden www.nativescapesma.com.
Sunday,
February 10th, 2019
2:00p - 5:30p
Essex Art Center 56 Island Street, Lawrence, MA River in the Sky—Our Merrimack of Wintering Crows!: Join the Merrimack Valley Bird Club, Andover Village Improvement Society, and Merrimack River Water Shed in a celebration of the amazing number of crows being seen around Lawrence and the Merrimack River. There will be an art exhibit focused on crows followed by a talk by Dana and Bob Fox at 3:00. After the talk you are invited to join the Foxes to travel by car to witness the gathering and roosting of 1000s of crows. The event is free and open to the public, but seating is limited to 45, so you must go to the link below to register. Read more: here or watch video: here

https://crowshow.eventbrite.com
Saturday,
February 2nd, 2019
to
May 5th, 2019
Peabody Essex Museum
Nature's Nation: American Art and Environment: Examines for the first time how American and Native American artists have both reflected and shaped our understanding of the environment. The exhibition traces evolving ideas about the environment — and our place within it — through more than 100 works of art from the colonial period to the present by a broad range of artists.
Sunday,
February 10th, 2019
6:00p - 8:00p
Goldsmith Woodlands Reservation
Family Moonlight Snowshoe Trek at the Goldsmith Woodlands: Meet at 5:45 for the 6:00 PM outing. Bring a headlamp or flashlight and enjoy cookies and hot chocolate around a campfire in the woods. Park in front of #491 S. Main St. at the Goldsmith Woodlands entrance. No registration, No pets. Hike if no snow, rain cancels. Leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com) and Assistant Leaders Ken Doran and Mark Kaluzny. (Previous years had Cross-Country Skiing, this year we will only have Snowshoeing).
Friday,
February 15th, 2019
to
August 23rd, 2019
Andover Center for History & Culture, 97 Main Street, Andover.
History Exhibit opens at ACHC. Anyone who would like to have a photograph included in a digital display at the AVIS 125 exhibit at the Andover Center for History and Culture can submit a photo for consideration. The exhibit is called Breathing Places and opens to the public on February 15, 2019. Please email your photos to breathingplaces2019@gmail.com
Sunday,
January 27th, 2019
10:00am
Rafton Reservation
AVIS' 50th Annual Snowshoe Trek at the Harold R. Rafton Reservation: Meet at 9:45am for the 10:00 to 12:00 outing. Park near the leaf composting area on High Plain Rd. No registration, No pets. Hike if no snow, rain cancels. Leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com) and Assistant Leaders Ken Doran and Mark Kaluzny. (Previous years had Cross-Country Skiing, this year we will only have Snowshoeing).
Tuesday,
January 1st, 2019
10:00am
Skug River Reservation, 315 Salem Street, Andover
AVIS 125 Hike: Start the new year off with a hike and begin the year-long AVIS 125th Anniversary celebrating with a New Year's Day hike. No registration. No pets. Leader: Jeff LaFountain, jefflaf@comcast.net

Photos from Past Events