Upcoming Events


When Where What
Sunday,
March 10th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
26 Oriole Drive, Andover
Iconic AVIS Reservations: Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, Sakowich & West Parish Meadow
Wednesday,
March 13th, 2019
7:00p - 9:00p
Memorial Hall, Memorial Hall Library
Joint Meeting of the AVIS Wardens and the Andover Conservation Commission Overseers.
This informative program is a presentation about the invasive species that are on our properties. The presenters are, Chris Polatin, Polatin Ecological Services www.polaitneco.com and Robert Barry, NativeScapes, MA and an AVIS Warden www.nativescapesma.com.
Tuesday,
March 26th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00
Amy Gordon Taft Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Join our Hike / Trimming trails with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
April 2nd, 2019
9:30a - 12:00
Deer Jump Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike / trash pickup with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Wednesday,
April 10th, 2019
6:00p - 9:30p
Andover Country Club, 60 Canterbury Street, Andover
Annual Dinner: Please save the date for the AVIS Annual Dinner. Come and celebrate our 125th anniversary. More details
Sunday,
April 14th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
17 Launching Road, Andover
Deer Jump Trail: Deer Jump, Spalding & Behrakis
Tuesday,
April 16th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Deer Jump Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike/Trash pickup with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
May 7th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Goldsmith Woodlands Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
May 21st, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Sakowich, Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, West Parish Meadow
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
June 4th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Vale Reservation & Shawsheen River Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
June 18th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Wilkinson Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
June 16th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Stanley Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
August 6th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Richard J. Bonier Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
August 20th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Turtle Mound / Nat Smith Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)
Tuesday,
September 3rd, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Harold R. Rafton Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com)

Past Events

When Where What
Sunday,
February 10th, 2019
2:00p - 5:30p
Essex Art Center 56 Island Street, Lawrence, MA River in the Sky—Our Merrimack of Wintering Crows!: Join the Merrimack Valley Bird Club, Andover Village Improvement Society, and Merrimack River Water Shed in a celebration of the amazing number of crows being seen around Lawrence and the Merrimack River. There will be an art exhibit focused on crows followed by a talk by Dana and Bob Fox at 3:00. After the talk you are invited to join the Foxes to travel by car to witness the gathering and roosting of 1000s of crows. The event is free and open to the public, but seating is limited to 45, so you must go to the link below to register. Read more: here or watch video: here

https://crowshow.eventbrite.com
Saturday,
February 2nd, 2019
to
May 5th, 2019
Peabody Essex Museum
Nature's Nation: American Art and Environment: Examines for the first time how American and Native American artists have both reflected and shaped our understanding of the environment. The exhibition traces evolving ideas about the environment — and our place within it — through more than 100 works of art from the colonial period to the present by a broad range of artists.
Sunday,
February 10th, 2019
6:00p - 8:00p
Goldsmith Woodlands Reservation
Family Moonlight Snowshoe Trek at the Goldsmith Woodlands: Meet at 5:45 for the 6:00 PM outing. Bring a headlamp or flashlight and enjoy cookies and hot chocolate around a campfire in the woods. Park in front of #491 S. Main St. at the Goldsmith Woodlands entrance. No registration, No pets. Hike if no snow, rain cancels. Leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com) and Assistant Leaders Ken Doran and Mark Kaluzny. (Previous years had Cross-Country Skiing, this year we will only have Snowshoeing).
Friday,
February 15th, 2019
to
August 23rd, 2019
Andover Center for History & Culture, 97 Main Street, Andover.
History Exhibit opens at ACHC. Anyone who would like to have a photograph included in a digital display at the AVIS 125 exhibit at the Andover Center for History and Culture can submit a photo for consideration. The exhibit is called Breathing Places and opens to the public on February 15, 2019. Please email your photos to breathingplaces2019@gmail.com
Sunday,
January 27th, 2019
10:00am
Rafton Reservation
AVIS' 50th Annual Snowshoe Trek at the Harold R. Rafton Reservation: Meet at 9:45am for the 10:00 to 12:00 outing. Park near the leaf composting area on High Plain Rd. No registration, No pets. Hike if no snow, rain cancels. Leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com) and Assistant Leaders Ken Doran and Mark Kaluzny. (Previous years had Cross-Country Skiing, this year we will only have Snowshoeing).
Tuesday,
January 1st, 2019
10:00am
Skug River Reservation, 315 Salem Street, Andover
AVIS 125 Hike: Start the new year off with a hike and begin the year-long AVIS 125th Anniversary celebrating with a New Year's Day hike. No registration. No pets. Leader: Jeff LaFountain, jefflaf@comcast.net
Saturday,
September 8th, 2018
10:00am-4:00pm
Main St, Andover
Andover Day: Please join us in downtown Andover for this annual celebration of all things Andover. Come for the entertainment, food, and friendship. Stop by our booth and meet some of our volunteers and find out more about what is going on with AVIS.
Sunday,
September 30th, 2018
10:00am
Shawsheen River Reservation
Trails and Sails Hike: Join AVIS board members for a pleasant hike along the Shawsheen River. We will hike on the Claus Dengler trail (named for a former AVIS president) which runs along the Shawsheen River from Abbot Bridge to Ballardvale train station, a distance of 1.5 miles. We will walk along open meadows and into the woods. The river is visible throughout most of this hike. This is an excellent opportunity to observe a variety of wildlife and plant species. On our return, we may explore some other trails. The total distance for this hike is approximately 3 miles. Welcoming to all who enjoy walking/hiking outside on trails in the woods.

Special Instructions: Meet at the intersection of Central Street and Abbot Bridge drive. Wear comfortable walking shoes and bug repellant. Bring water. Well behaved dogs on leashes welcome.
Every Monday
June - September 9:00am - 10:00am
Goldsmith Woodlands
Silent Hike: Please join us for one of our weekly hikes in the Goldsmith Woodland. Last chance for a silent hike on Monday, June 25, 9-10 am. The hikes will resume in the fall. This hike is an easy, one hour excursion in our most popular reservation with lovely views of Fosters Pond. Led by experienced hiker, Jeff LaFountain, hikers are requested to not talk but to enjoy the serenity of the Woodlands. If extremely inclement weather, hike is canceled. For more information contact Jeff at: jefflaf@comcast.net
Thursday,
April 19th, 2018
6:45pm-8:45pm
Memorial Hall Library
Main St, Andover
Andover Conservation Commission Annual Overseer Meeting: This year’s keynote speaker is Lindsay Randall, Curator of Education and Outreach at the Peabody Institute at Phillips Academy. Lindsay is an expert on prehistoric Native American life in New England.

Lindsay’s talk is entitled alertNATIVE History of the Merrimack Valley. The Merrimack Valley has a rich native history that spans thousands of years from the first people in the Americas to today. This talk will discuss this history and how the geographical landscape played into the importance of the area for native people.

We will start with a short business meeting from 7 – 7:45; our guest speaker will begin at approximately 7:45. As always, the meeting is open to the public and we encourage people to attend.


Saturday,
April 21st, 2018
10:00 am - 11:00 am
West Parish Meadow It’s Spring and everything is waking up! A one-hour naturalist-led hike for little kids (4-7) with a grownup. Rain date, April 22nd. We will meet at the West Parish Church parking lot, 129 Reservation Road, Andover. We will take a peek at the children’s garden to see if any spring flowers are blooming yet. Then we’ll walk along the trail to West Parish Meadow and look for signs of spring: nests, animal foods, footprints, bird calls, special smells, eggshells, and other surprises our young detectives can find. This will be a fun short hike at an easy pace. Questions? Contact amy.janovsky@gmail.com
Saturday,
April 21st, 2018
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Deer Jump Reservation Scavenger hunt for older kids (8-12): A one-hour naturalist-led hike for older kids with an adult. We’ll meet at the AVIS trailhead at 9 Nollett Drive, Andover. Rain date is April 22nd. We will walk through the hemlock grove, cross a small creek, and stroll along the beautiful Deer Jump trail along the Merrimack River. We’ll have lists of special things to find that will help us hone our skills at looking for animal signs and listening carefully to the critters who live in this special reservation. Questions? Contact amy.janovsky@gmail.com
Thursday,
April 5th, 2018
6:00pm
Rescheduled
Old Town Hall
20 Main St, Andover
AVIS Annual Dinner and Meeting: Please join us for another evening of conversation and food. Our speaker this year is Jon Honea, Andover Conservation Commissioner and Professor at Emerson University. Dr. Honea's research focuses on the influence of environmental change, including restoration and climate change, on species, populations, and communities of organisms. He teaches courses in ecology and conservation, sustainability science, water resource use, environmental economics, and science communication. He will present information about the removal of dams from the Shawsheen River with an emphasis on the return of alewifes and other fish to the upper river.

Photos from Past Events