AVIS 125th Year Celebration Videos

 

Upcoming Events


When Where What
Tuesday,
July 16th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Stanley Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at Spring Grove Rd. opposite the cemetery.
Tuesday,
August 6th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Richard J. Bonier Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 3 Monahan Ln.
Sunday,
August 11th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet on Monohan Lane, Andover. Five Reservation Bus Tour/Hike: Get on the bus again and tour five more of AVIS’s smaller reservations. This month, it’s the Bonier, Sherman, and Nat Smith Reservations, plus Turtle Mound and the site of the Lowell & Lawrence Railroad.
Due to the limited number of seats on the bus, please register with Hike Leader, Denise Boucher, denisegirish@yahoo.com.
Tuesday,
August 20th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Turtle Mound / Nat Smith Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 3 Lakeside Cir.
Tuesday,
September 3rd, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Harold R. Rafton Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at High Plain Rd. across from the leaf compost project.
Sunday,
September 15th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot on 491 S. Main Street, Andover. Goldsmith Woodlands Hike: As Fall approaches, we’ll hike through the Goldsmith Woodlands to Foster’s Pond. Hike Leader, Denise Boucher, denisegirish@yahoo.com
Sunday,
October 13th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet at the parking lot opposite the town compost site on High Plain Road. Rafton Reservation Hike: Enjoy this wonderful hike chock-full of old stone walls and woodlots through the Virginia Hammond and Harold Rafton Reservations. Hike Leader, Denise Boucher, denisegirish@yahoo.com
Sunday,
November 10th, 2019
1:00p - 3:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot at the corner of Gould Road and Rte. 125. Peggy Keck Reservation Hike: Feel the brisk air as we hike through this geological gem, know as the Peggy Keck Reservation. The keen-eyes hiker can find ample evidence of the glacial origins of this land. Hike Leader, Denise Boucher, denisegirish@yahoo.com
Sunday,
November 21st, 2019
9:30a - 11:301
Meet at the Skug River Reservation parking lot at 315 Salem Street, Andover. Skug River Reservation Hike: Join AVIS and Andover Trails in a collaborative event with Essex County Greenbelt Association, as we hike through the Hammond and Skug River Reservations. Highlights include a glacial erratic, soapstone quarries, and the remains of a 19th-century grist mill. Hike Leader, Denise Boucher, denisegirish@yahoo.com
Sunday,
December 8th, 2019
1:00p - 3:00p
Meet at the reservation parking lot on Vine Street. Amy Gordon Taft Reservation Hike: As winter approaches and the end of the year looms, take some time to hike the magnificent Amy Gordon Taft Reservation. Hike Leader, Denise Boucher, denisegirish@yahoo.com

Past Events

When Where What
Tuesday,
June 4th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Vale Reservation & Shawsheen River Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at the end of Dale St.
Tuesday,
June 4th, 2019
7:00p - 8:30p
Memorial Hall Library The AVIS Burns Reservation: An Ecosystem Reborn Andover botanist Richard Barry has been a co-warden for the AVIS Burns Reservation in Ballardvale for less than four years, but during that time, he has transformed the property from an invasives-choked tangle to a gem of a neighborhood nature preserve. Native wildlife is flourishing, and visitors have a tranquil setting to enjoy. Richard will speak about what he has done to bring about this transformation. Come enjoy a local success story and learn a few techniques you can use on your own property!
Saturday,
June 8th, 2019
9:30a - 10:30a
Meet at the end of Dale St. Beaver Hike: Join Educator Naturalist Dan Holbrook of North Shore Nature Programs on Saturday, June 8th from 9:30 to 10:30 to explore the Vale reservation in search of Beavers! We will look for scent mounds, canals, and beaver chews in search of our furry friends. Meet at the end of Dale St. in Andover and please leave pets at home. This is a family event, all are welcome to walk and enjoy nature!
Sunday,
June 9th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
Meet at the Skug River Reservation parking lot at 315 Salem Street, Andover. River Reservation Hike: This hike will take in the Hammond and Skug River Reservations. Highlights include a glacial erratic, soapstone quarries, and the remains of a 19th-century grist mill. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Thursday,
June 13th, 2019
7:00p - 8:30p
Memorial Hall Library Native Wild Edibles with Russ Cohen: Join Russ Cohen, expert forager and author of Wild Plants I Have Known…and Eaten, for a 60-minute slide show featuring at least two dozen species of native edible wild plants suitable for adding to your own landscape, or nibbling on as you encounter them in other locales. Regrister at mhl.org.
Tuesday,
June 18th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Wilkinson Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at Woburn St. on left just past Rattlesnake Hill Rd.
Wednesday,
June 19th, 2019
4:00p - 6:00p
Peggy Keck Reservation
Wild Edible Walk with Russ Cohen: Native plant expert Russ Cohen will be leading an edible plants hike from 4:00 to 6:00 pm at the Peggy Keck Reservation. This is a great chance to learn from an expert about edible plants—some may even be growing in your back yard! Participants will meet at the AVIS Peggy Keck Reservation entrance and parking area on Gould Road at Rte. 125. There is additional off-street parking at the nearby Goldsmith reservation.
Wednesday,
June 19th, 2019
6:00p - 8:00p
Memorial Hall Library Shawsheen River Watershed Association Annual meeting. Click here for more info.
Sunday,
June 23rd, 2019
1:00p - 3:00p
Meet at the parking lot opposite the town compost site on High Plain Road. Rafton Reservation Hike: Join AVIS and Andover Trails in a collaborative event with Essex County Greenbelt Association, as we hike through the Virginia Hammond and Harold Rafton Reservations. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Thursday,
May 16,
9:30-11:30 am
Meet at 26 Oriole Drive, Andover.
Indian Ridge Hike: Join AVIS and Andover Trails in a collaborative event with Essex County Greenbelt Association, as we hike through Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, West Parish Meadow, and the Sakowich Reservation. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Sunday,
May 19,
1:00-4:00 pm
Meet on Abbot Bridge Drive, near the intersection of Central Street, Andover.
Shawsheen River Trail Hike: Celebrate Spring with a hike along the Shawsheen River. We’ll visit the Vale and Shawsheen River Reservations on this easy hike. Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain
Tuesday,
May 21st, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Sakowich, Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, West Parish Meadow
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 26 Oriole Dr at Sakowich.
Saturday,
May 4th, 2019
9:30a - 11:30a
Vale Reservation
Beaver nature walk: Led by North Shore Nature Programs, northshorenatureprograms.com which is an environmental education organization dedicated to helping students of all ages fall in love with nature. They work with schools, community groups, and individuals to provide engaging, informative programs that help explain the world around us. The nature walk will be led by Dan Holbrook and is open to all ages. This family friendly walk will start at the end of Dale St. and look for all things related to beavers and their habitat along the Shawsheen River on the Vale Reservation. No pets.
Tuesday,
May 7th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Goldsmith Woodlands Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at 491 S. Main St.
Wednesday,
April 10th, 2019
6:00p - 9:30p
Andover Country Club, 60 Canterbury Street, Andover
Annual Dinner: Please save the date for the AVIS Annual Dinner. Come and celebrate our 125th anniversary. More details
Sunday,
April 14th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
17 Launching Road, Andover
Meet halfway down the hill on Merrimac Drive, Tewksbury. We will be taking a bus to the trailhead on Launching Rd.
Merrimack River Trail: Deer Jump, Spalding, Behrakis
Due to the limited amount of seats in the bus, please register with Hike Leader, Jeff LaFountain jefflaf@comcast.net
Tuesday,
April 16th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00p
Deer Jump Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike/Trash pickup with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at Launching Rd. on right just past Mercury Cir.
Tuesday,
April 2nd, 2019
9:30a - 12:00
Deer Jump Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Hike / trash pickup with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com). Parking at the end of Ravens Bluff.
Tuesday,
March 26th, 2019
9:30a - 12:00
Amy Gordon Taft Reservation
Tuesdays with AVIS: Join our Hike / Trimming trails with our leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com).
Parking: Sagamore Dr. at Wildwood Rd.
Sunday,
March 10th, 2019
1:00p - 4:00p
26 Oriole Drive, Andover
Iconic AVIS Reservations: Bakers Meadow, Indian Ridge, Sakowich & West Parish Meadow
Wednesday,
March 13th, 2019
7:00p - 9:00p
Memorial Hall, Memorial Hall Library
Joint Meeting of the AVIS Wardens and the Andover Conservation Commission Overseers.
This informative program is a presentation about the invasive species that are on our properties. The presenters are, Chris Polatin, Polatin Ecological Services www.polaitneco.com and Robert Barry, NativeScapes, MA and an AVIS Warden www.nativescapesma.com.
Sunday,
February 10th, 2019
2:00p - 5:30p
Essex Art Center 56 Island Street, Lawrence, MA River in the Sky—Our Merrimack of Wintering Crows!: Join the Merrimack Valley Bird Club, Andover Village Improvement Society, and Merrimack River Water Shed in a celebration of the amazing number of crows being seen around Lawrence and the Merrimack River. There will be an art exhibit focused on crows followed by a talk by Dana and Bob Fox at 3:00. After the talk you are invited to join the Foxes to travel by car to witness the gathering and roosting of 1000s of crows. The event is free and open to the public, but seating is limited to 45, so you must go to the link below to register. Read more: here or watch video: here

https://crowshow.eventbrite.com
Saturday,
February 2nd, 2019
to
May 5th, 2019
Peabody Essex Museum
Nature's Nation: American Art and Environment: Examines for the first time how American and Native American artists have both reflected and shaped our understanding of the environment. The exhibition traces evolving ideas about the environment — and our place within it — through more than 100 works of art from the colonial period to the present by a broad range of artists.
Sunday,
February 10th, 2019
6:00p - 8:00p
Goldsmith Woodlands Reservation
Family Moonlight Snowshoe Trek at the Goldsmith Woodlands: Meet at 5:45 for the 6:00 PM outing. Bring a headlamp or flashlight and enjoy cookies and hot chocolate around a campfire in the woods. Park in front of #491 S. Main St. at the Goldsmith Woodlands entrance. No registration, No pets. Hike if no snow, rain cancels. Leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com) and Assistant Leaders Ken Doran and Mark Kaluzny. (Previous years had Cross-Country Skiing, this year we will only have Snowshoeing).
Friday,
February 15th, 2019
to
August 23rd, 2019
Andover Center for History & Culture, 97 Main Street, Andover.
History Exhibit opens at ACHC. Anyone who would like to have a photograph included in a digital display at the AVIS 125 exhibit at the Andover Center for History and Culture can submit a photo for consideration. The exhibit is called Breathing Places and opens to the public on February 15, 2019. Please email your photos to breathingplaces2019@gmail.com
Sunday,
January 27th, 2019
10:00am
Rafton Reservation
AVIS' 50th Annual Snowshoe Trek at the Harold R. Rafton Reservation: Meet at 9:45am for the 10:00 to 12:00 outing. Park near the leaf composting area on High Plain Rd. No registration, No pets. Hike if no snow, rain cancels. Leader David Dargie (978-996-4475) (david@dargie.com) and Assistant Leaders Ken Doran and Mark Kaluzny. (Previous years had Cross-Country Skiing, this year we will only have Snowshoeing).
Tuesday,
January 1st, 2019
10:00am
Skug River Reservation, 315 Salem Street, Andover
AVIS 125 Hike: Start the new year off with a hike and begin the year-long AVIS 125th Anniversary celebrating with a New Year's Day hike. No registration. No pets. Leader: Jeff LaFountain, jefflaf@comcast.net

Photos from Past Events